I am a technician, but I have technique only inside technique.
Outside it I am mad, with every right to be so.
With every right to be so, did you hear me?

Click here if you would like to know who wrote these lines

Paulo Tabuada
  Vijay K. Dhir Professor of Engineering

 Cyber-Physical Systems Laboratory
 Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
 University of California at Los Angeles

Research Interests 
Awards and Honors 

Recent Work 

Annotated Bibliography 
Journals and Conferences 


   09/06/18: Special issue of Acta Informatica dedicated to synthesis. Consider submitting your best papers!

10/13/17: Profs. Diggavi, Srivastava, and Tabuada part of ARL's Internet of Battlefield Things Collaborative Research Alliance.

09/01/17: Dr. Yasser Shoukry joined the University of Maryland as Assistant Professor.

07/28/17: Prof. Tabuada is the inaugural holder of the Vijay K. Dhir Endowed Chair in Engineering.

   07/10/17: ICCPS 2018 will take place in Porto. Consider submitting your best papers!

11/29/16: Prof. Tabuada becomes an IEEE Fellow.

10/07/16: Ayca Balkan wins the best paper award at EMSOFT 2016.

   04/18/16: Yasser Shoukry wins the best paper award at ICCPS 2016.

   12/17/15: Prof. Tabuada is awarded the 2015 Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize by the IEEE Control Systems Society.

08/01/15: Journal of Discrete Event Dynamic Systems special issue on Formal Methods in Control. Consider submitting your best papers!

01/09/15: Ayca Balkan wins the best student paper award at ICC.

 Research interests:

   My main research interests cover a range of topics which could be described as a modern systems theory. In particular, I'm interested in modeling, analysis, control, and security of real-time, embedded, networked and distributed cyber-physical systems. Other research interests include geometrical nonlinear control and mathematical systems theory.

 Awards and Honors:  Odds and ends:

  Vijay K. Dhir Endowed Chair in Engineering, 2017.
  IEEE Fellow, 2017.

  EMSOFT Best Paper Award, 2016.
  ICCPS Best Paper Award, 2016.
  IEEE CSS Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize, 2015.
  ICC Best Student Paper Award, 2015.
  ICCPS Best Paper Award, 2014.
  Plenary speaker, NecSys, 2013.
  IEEE CSS George S. Axelby Award, 2011.
  EMSOFT Best Paper Award, 2010.
  Plenary speaker, WODES, 2010.
  Semi-plenary Speaker, ACC, 2010.
  AACC Donald P. Eckman Award, 2009.
  NSF CAREER Award, 2005.

  Falas PortuguÍs? Queres saber mais sobre estudar na UCLA e viver em LA? Check this video:

 Recent work:

   Robust Monitoring of Linear Temporal Properties
   Daniel Neider, Maximilian Schwenger, Paulo Tabuada, Alexander Weinert, Martin Zimmermann

   Data Driven Stability Analysis of Black-box Switched Linear Systems
   Joris Kenanian, Ayca Balkan, Raphael M. Jungers, Paulo Tabuada

   Supervisory Control of Discrete-event Systems under Attacks
   Masashi Wakaiki, Paulo Tabuada, Joao P. Hespanha

   Verifying rLTL formulas: now faster than ever before
   Tzanis Anevlavis, Matthew Philippe, Hermann Daniel Neider, Paulo Tabuada
   To appear in CDC 2018.

   Towards the use of symmetries to ensure privacy in control over the cloud
   Alimzhan Sultangazin and Paulo Tabuada
   To appear in CDC 2018.

   Distorting an Adversary's View in Cyber-Physical Systems
   Gaurav Kumar Agarwal, Mohammed Karmoose, Suhas Diggavi, Christina Fragouli, Paulo Tabuada
   To appear in CDC 2018.

   Lazy Controller Synthesis using Three-valued Abstractions for Safety and Reachability Specifications
   Omar Hussien and Paulo Tabuada
   To appear in CDC 2018.

   Deciding Stability of a Switched System Without Identifying It
   Ayca Balkan, RaphaŽl M. Jungers, Joris Kenanian, Paulo Tabuada
   To appear in CDC 2018.

   SMC: Satisfiability Modulo Convex Programming
   Yasser Shoukry, Pierluigi Nuzzo, Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli, Sanjit Seshia, George Pappas, and Paulo Tabuada
   To appear in Proceedings of IEEE, 2018.

   Computing controlled invariant sets for hybrid systems with applications to model-predictive control
   BenoÓt Legat, Paulo Tabuada, and RaphaŽl M. Jungers
   ADHS, 2018.

   Will Distributed Computing Revolutionize Peace? The Emergence of Battlefield IoT
   Tarek Abdelzaher, Nora Ayanian, Tamer Basar, Suhas Diggavi, Jana Diesner, Deepak Ganesan, Ramesh Govindan, Susmit Jha, Tancrede Lepoint, Ben Marlin, Klara Nahrstedt, David Nicol, Raj Rajkumar, Stephen Russell, Sanjit Seshia, Fei Sha, Prashant Shenoy, Mani Srivastava, Gaurav Sukhatme, Ananthram Swami, Paulo Tabuada, Don Towsley, Nitin Vaidya, and Venu Veeravalli